The Commencement of Realbook

Another day in real estate.

My name is Ian Barnacle and I am a Realtor rookie in Providence, Rhode Island. I am entering my second year in real estate, and since I started, I have learned more and worked harder than I ever imagined. I graduated from Hampshire College and Brown University in May 2007 with degrees in English & Photography, and, in my anxiety about the future with a BA, I took my mother’s advice and signed up for a real estate course.

I am a third-generation Rhode Island Realtor!

My mother is Sally Lapides, co-founder and President & CEO of Residential Properties Ltd., Rhode Island’s largest privately held real estate company. This is the story that I was told: My grandmother went into real estate when her children were in college, and my mother, jobless like me after graduation with a BA in Art History, tried real estate before beginning grad school. She never made it to grad school, and in 1981, my mother and Liz Chace were ambitious Realtors in a marketplace commanded my men. When mortgage rates were at 17% and women were new to the Providence business scene, Sally and Liz set up shop in an historic storefront on Wickenden Street in Providence. The rest is history.

I don’t know what the future holds for me. One thing is for sure: my family and I are committed to Rhode Island. It is the place that called me back from college, and that I knew growing up. Real estate is a localized business, and it is important to be an expert in your field/location. This is my home state, and I love helping buyers and sellers solve real estate problems in an area where I grew up and currently live.

Welcome to my Realbook; this is my life, and these are my real estate adventures.

Leave a Reply

